Chiefs sign free-agent tackle Geoff Schwartz

Friday March 15th by KC58

The Chiefs added depth and competition to the Offensive Line Friday by signing Tackle/Guard Geoff Schwartz. Schwartz 6-feet-6, 340-pound, has played in the NFL for three years, (two years with Carolina and one with Minnesota), he started 19 of those games. Schwartz has played both positions of Tackle and SchwartzGuard so he could be plugged into either one. Guards Jon Asamoah and Jeff Allen will be returning next year, Left Tackle Branden Albert is the franchise player and they released Eric Winston earlier this week. His best way to make the starting lineup would be to battle Tackle Donald Stephenson for the Right Tackle spot.

It does sound like Schwartz might be making other plans thou.

“I think I’m better at guard. Playing tackle was definitely a positive but I haven’t played there in a couple of years. I’m just looking forward to a healthy camp and playing guard, preferably. But I can still do tackle. They said the best five will play. I believe that and I’ll be ready to play, anything they want me to do.’’ Schwartz said in an interview today.

I’m cool with that, if he can beat out those guards then more power to him. I want the best guys out on the field each and every game!

1 Comment

Filed under AFC West, Kansas City Chiefs, News

One response to “Chiefs sign free-agent tackle Geoff Schwartz

  1. Pingback: Two #2′s For Albert Would Be Good For The Team | afcwestfootball

Tell us what you think!

